Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Point (de vue) sur la crise ivorienne
2 janvier 2011

Lanny Davis keeps acting for peace in Côte d'Ivoire !

It's usually important to check the source. I read on twitter and elsewhere on the Internet that Lanny Davis was paid by Gbagbo to defend him, which is absolutely wrong. I guess the ones that spread this information were trying to misinform the ones that don't speak English. Unfortunately for them I do and I'll give a French translation of the present analysis.

In fact, throught his first words in this interview, L. Davis specifies that he has been "paid by the Gbagbo government not to defend Mr. Gbagbo's presidential election". So Mr. Davis is not Gbagbo's attorney, unlike what we can read on some French websites.

Can you believe that ? According to Mr. Davis, the US government recognized that it didn't even read the Constitutional Court report. After all this, how not to question the international community's (the UN, the US, France, etc.) position in the Ivorian crisis ? For the ones that blame L. Davis for his support to Cote d'Ivoire, it's not because you criticize the international community that you necessarily support Mr. Gbagbo.

I strongly believe that Mr. Davis could have done a great job in this crisis. Unfortunately he resigned because Gbagbo refused to take Obama's phone call, damn! He defends his position pretty well in this interview on CNN and I share his "mediator" position in this issue so I let you listen to it directly.

"I don't know who's right and I'm not here to defend Mr. Gbagbo. I am here to say that we need to avoid bloodshed.", Lanny Davis

However, Lanny Davis has not totally resigned since he said to Gbagbo's ambassador to Washington: "I will continue to do all I can to help encourage the parties to resolve this matter peacefully, through dialogue and mediation and non-violence, but for the reasons expressed above, I will no longer be able to do so as a representative of your government.” (Source: NY Times)

Thanks Mr. Davis.

To read more about Lanny Davis.

--MD

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
Thanks for visiting my blog ! I do agree with you (Art. 64 of the electoral code was violated by the CC) but unfortunately the whole blog is in French and I actually wrote an article on this.<br /> <br /> First of all, I'm not a Gbagbo supporter. My point is to blame the Intl' Community that never showed impartiality in this conflict. Does it make sense for u that the US government never read the CC report before taking position? Come on! For me both cheated. Please read the AU report, they did recognize massive frauds in the North http://bit.ly/hFMKuU. But the UN from the beginning has been considering that these frauds and violence were not a big deal. Weird for the official body of the Human Rights, isn't it?<br /> <br /> Then, have you checked the results given by the CEI ? There, the number of voters is higher than the one of registered. Beginning of a long list of incoherencies. The UN recalculated the whole thing w/o giving results. In fact, M. Choi declared in “Jeune Afrique” (African magazine): “I conducted my certification without taking into account of the applied methods and the results given by both the CEI and the CC” [I translated it]. After that, the UN never provided any results of this calculation except that Alassane Ouattara is the winner! I understand we are in Africa, but please guys take us in serious. <br /> <br /> At last, I like Mr. Davis’ point of view since is the only one who tried to listen to both and not urging Gbagbo to quit in favor of Alassane Ouattara. The solution for me should have been to re-vote in the litigious departments (7) since both parties agreed on all the rest of the results. Do you have relatives in Côte d’Ivoire? My parents live in Abidjan, and they say life goes on… So why does the ECOWAS and others need a military intervention? All this encourages me to question again and again the Intl’ Commnunity’s role…<br /> <br /> Thanks again for your comment, I’m still open to debate and I will try to write more in English!<br /> --MD
T
This is just... oh well, u have guys in the CC who decide to cancel 650 000 votes and reverse the results of the polls without any right to do so (see art 64 of IC elect code)... This is just a good old coup, a golpe de estado, with TVs filming all around... So you dont need Lanny Davis to explain that "he doesnt know who won", and that's why Gbagbo eventually decided not to work with him and hired two ugly french lawyers instead who will describe a huge plot and accuse the whole world of being responsible of his own crimes.
Publicité
Publicité